News   Apr 03, 2020
 7.3K     3 
News   Apr 02, 2020
 7.5K     0 
News   Apr 02, 2020
 2.6K     0 

Jasper Avenue New Vision / Imagine Jasper Avenue

Love this project. We need to be bolder and more aggressive like this. Vision and actual progress on climate goals. Whyte ave needs to become pedestrianized asap. Jasper could be half the size once VLW is finished.

As we leave the suburb to DT commute model of cities, we need to start thinking more about districts/neighbourhoods. Whyte become pedestrianized is only bad those those using it as a thoroughfare. Most locals would love it or at the very least be able to easily adapt to it.
I've been saying this for the past two years.

Jasper should narrow the lanes, drop the turning lane, add a bike lane and widen the sidewalks even more, ass lots of big trees lining up the street, separating the bike lane from traffic. Raise the crossings at some intersections (120 st, 110 st, 104 st, 101 st, 97 st), add better, pedestrian scaled, lighting, space for street performers closer to where we have more pedestrian traffic...

Whyte could go about the same way, provided we do need to provide another east-west route to compensate, simply because right now, Whyte Ave is a bottleneck (I would say 76/University Ave). Widen the sidewalks, cut off the turning lanes, add a dedicated biking lane, lots of bike racks, raise all of the crossings, narrow the car lanes and reduce speed to 40 (or even 30, like Paris), hell, for all I care, we could very well plan an LRT line AT LEAST connecting Bonnie Doon to Health Sciences, and we'd have a pedestrian wonderland to rival even some European cities.